ESF Policy Committee Chairman

The Current Chairman of the ESF Policy Committee

Tilmann Kupfer picture Tilmann Kupfer, Vice President, Trade and International Affairs, BT Group.

Tilmann Kupfer is Vice President, Trade and International Affairs for BT Group in Brussels and has joined the company in 1997. He covers telecoms related trade policy, including WTO and bilateral free trade negotiations and coordinates public affairs with BT’s government relation teams in Europe, the US and Asia. He also follows Data Protection and previously was involved in European content and media policy, including the debates around Television without Frontiers, E-Commerce, Copyright, Data Retention and the Internal Market for Services.

Before joining BT, Tilmann was a Public Affairs Consultant with Hill and Knowlton. In the early 1990s he worked as an Assistant for two Members of the European Parliament and was a trainee at the European Commission and the Council of Europe. After his Masters degree in History and Political Science at the Ludwig Maximilians Universität in Munich, he started his first career steps as a freelance journalist for the Bavarian Television. He speaks German, English, French and some conversational Spanish.

Previous ESF Policy Committee Chairs:

  1. Edward Bowles(Regional Head of Public Affairs, EMEA and Americas – Standard Chartered Bank and – UK) has been Chairman of ESF’s Policy Committee from January 2012 till June 2013.

  2. Richard O’Toole – Managing Director – Golman Sachs – UK
  3. Christopher Roberts – Chairman of LOTIS Committee IFSL, former TheCityUK
  4. Andrew Buxton – Barclays Bank
  5. Jerker Torngren – ETNO